Sign Up for Our Mailing List

    If you are interested in receiving emails from the Florida Council on Aging and NOT a current member, please click here to complete the form.


    Follow Us

    Inductees - FCOA Hall of Fame

    In 1983, the FCOA Board of Trustees created the Florida Council on Aging Hall of Fame. The purpose was to recognize extraordinary contributions to the field of aging statewide for a period of ten years or more. Senator Claude Pepper was the first and only person inducted in that inaugural year. In 1984, three of FCOA’s founders were inducted: Margaret Jacks, Dr. Carter Osterbind, and Dr. Jean Jones Perdue. 1986 brought Dr. Hal Riker into the Hall of Fame; and in 1989 Margaret Lynn Duggar was inducted. In 1993, Sister Margaret Freeman and the Florida Power & Light Company were selected. The next inductee, Judy Thames, was chosen in 1998. In this first twenty years, only 8 individuals and one company were selected for this honor.

    There were no inductees until five years later, when Bentley Lipscomb, founding Secretary of the Florida Department of Elder Affairs, was inducted as the 10th member of the FCOA Hall of Fame in 2003. In 2007, Josefina Carbonell was inducted as she was completing her service as the U.S. Assistant Secre-tary for Aging at the Department of Health and Human Services.

    In 2010, the FCOA Board of Trustees voted to induct Bob and Adele Graham, but their busy schedules necessitated postponing the presentation to them until October of 2013!


    Sen. Claude Pepper


    Margaret Jacks

    Dr. Carter Osterbind

    Dr. Jean Jones Perdue


    Dr. Harold C. Riker


    Margaret Lynn Duggar


    Sister Margaret Freeman

    Florida Power & Light


    Judith Thames


    E. Bentley Lipscomb


    Josefina Carbonell


    Senator Bob Graham

    Adele Graham

    Award Presentation Brochure - Click to read about Senator and Mrs. Graham's contributions to on behalf of Florida's older adults.